Filing an accident report is essential in the case of a serious car accident. According to Texas law, you must call the police when the accident is serious and involves injuries, fatalities, or damages to more than $1,000. If you or someone else is injured, call 911 and paramedics if necessary. The police will draft a CR-3 form on your behalf and will file a crash report within ten days of the accident.
What Does the Texas Law Say About Car Crash Reporting?
Generally, you must report a serious car crash to the police when you are involved in one. For a crash to be considered serious, the accident must have injured at least one person and caused at least $1,000 in property damage. If the accident is not serious, but you believe someone is injured, you should contact the police. The police officer will draft the CR-3 Form on your behalf. Once the police have drafted the report, write down the police report number, and wait for law enforcement to arrive.
The first page of the police accident report will contain a general description of the accident, the first two vehicles involved, and the traffic units. It will also include any injuries the investigating officer knows about, including if the driver was driving under the influence. All of these details will impact your case in court.
You may also want to make sure that you report any injuries you experience. The injury might not be apparent right away, or you may not realize you have been injured. If you don’t report the accident to the police, you could face penalties, including license suspension.
How Can Filing an Accident Report Help
If you are involved in an accident in Texas, you may be wondering how to file a report. First, call 911. Be as detailed as possible. Let the dispatcher know who was at fault, if there were injuries, and if traffic was obstructed. Tell them if anyone was in immediate danger. If you do not feel comfortable calling 911, you can visit the police station nearest your location to file a report.
Once you have the CR-3 form filled out, you can request a copy of the accident report. You can get a copy online or by mail. You’ll need to pay a fee. However, you might be confused by the abbreviations on the form. Some of these abbreviations may sound like gibberish to you. You can decipher the codes by having a copy of the Texas Department of Transportation code sheet handy.
When filing a Texas accident report, you have two options. You can submit a written report to the police, but the police report may not accurately reflect the actual incident. The responding officer may not be trained in accident reconstruction, so they may come to the wrong conclusion about who is at fault in the accident. To be sure, consult with a lawyer and gather evidence. In Texas, filing a police report can help you protect your rights in a personal injury claim.
How to Report a Car Accident to the Police
You need to know many things when reporting a car accident in Texas. First, make sure that everyone is safe in both cars. Next, move your cars to a safe area, away from oncoming traffic. Finally, call the police. In Texas, you’re required by law to report any serious accident. If the accident is a minor fender-bender, you should move the cars to the side of the road, out of the way of oncoming traffic.
If you don’t see the police, you’ll need to fill out a Driver’s Crash Report (CR-2) instead. This form will explain the details of the accident to the Texas Department of Transportation. Be careful when filling out this form, as it may damage your case and diminish your chances of receiving a fair settlement. Only fill out this form when there is no other option and consult with a Texas car accident attorney before you submit it.
Generally, accident reports are available within a few days to three weeks after an accident, but the process may take as long as a month or more. While you wait, it’s essential to check on the status of your case on a daily basis. Contact your attorney or insurance company if you’re not satisfied with the report. This is one of the most critical documents in your case.
Tips For Car Accident Reporting
It is imperative to record as many details about the car accident as possible:
- Gather the information of the parties involved in the accident
- Gather the names of any witnesses
- Insurance information
- Vehicle make and model
- Any other information you can remember
- Take photographs of the accident scene
- Document the distances and skid marks
- License plates of the vehicles involved in the accident
- Remember to write down the names of any persons who suffered injuries in the accident
- Signs of property damage to the vehicles
Write down the driver’s and vehicle owners’ names. Ensure that drivers have insurance. If one of the drivers was uninsured, Texas law requires at least basic liability coverage; otherwise, they may be fined $350. If possible, make sure you have your insurance card handy. Call the insurance company immediately if the other driver does not have one.
After assessing the accident, the police officer will probably give you their business card. Obtain their contact information and make public information requests. You can also find out if the other driver was charged or is at fault. If you do not want to talk with the police, you can leave a message for them or the other parties. Be sure to review the accident report carefully before you do anything else.
What Happens If I Do Not File an Accident Report
If you have a serious car accident in Texas, filing a police report is essential. If you are unable to do so, you may face serious consequences. You should also keep a copy of the report. This will be useful in case of a lawsuit.
After an accident, police officers will check to ensure that everyone involved is okay. They will call an ambulance or fire truck if necessary. They will also speak with all the individuals involved in the wreck separately, including witnesses. Police officers will also collect the necessary information from drivers and other individuals who may be inside buildings. They will collect vehicle identification numbers and license plates and interview anyone involved in the accident.
Depending on the type of accident, it is crucial to report the crash to the police as soon as possible. Not reporting the accident to the police may cause problems down the road. You may not even know how severe your injuries are until days or weeks after the accident. In addition, your car may have more damage than you thought, so having a police report can be helpful when it comes to assessing the damages and injuries.
Work With an Experienced Car Accident Attorney
You should always report a severe car accident to the police after the crash. Police officers can help you gather significant evidence and can take your statement. In addition, they can mediate between the drivers involved in an accident and collect insurance information for everyone involved. However, it is always best to contact an experienced car accident attorney before you make any statements to the police.
Insurance companies are notorious for undervaluing car accident claims. If you accept their settlement offer, you limit your ability to seek additional compensation for your injuries. By hiring an attorney, you’ll be able to maximize your recovery and minimize the risk of signing away your rights.
When you’re involved in a car accident in Texas, you should never leave the scene without calling the police. Leaving the scene of an accident is a crime, and you need to make sure the other driver has car insurance. However, sadly, 20% of drivers in Texas don’t carry insurance. Fortunately, if you’ve been the victim of a hit-and-run driver, your lawyer can help you fight for compensation.